skip to main content


HCPSS Students Advance to 2021 National History Day Competition

May 7th, 2021

After winning first or second place at the recent virtual Maryland History Day competition, eight HCPSS students will advance to the virtual National History Day competition, from June 13-17, 2021. Four HCPSS students were also honored with special awards at the state contest. These students have already won competitions at the school and county level, and were competing against hundreds of students from school systems across the state.

Lynn Rashid, media specialist at Marriott Ridge High School, was named the Maryland History Day High School Teacher of the Year and senior division nominee from Maryland for the Patricia Behring Teacher of the Year award in the senior division of the National History Day National Contest. She was honored at the April 29, 2021 HCPSS Board of Education meeting, and the national winner and nominees will be recognized at the virtual National History Day National Contest Awards Ceremony on June 19, 2021.

Lynn Rashid.

HCPSS students presented entries in one of five categories: exhibit, performance, multimedia documentary, research paper and website. The process started at the beginning of the school year as students conducted historical research on a self-selected topic that related to this year’s National History Day theme of Communication in History. The students will be recognized at the May 27, 2021 HCPSS Board of Education meeting.

Maryland History Day is a program of Maryland Humanities. For more information on National History Day, visit the National History Day website.

HCPSS Students Advancing to National History Day:

Junior Group Exhibit

Unlocking Women’s Political Potential: How Female Voices Communicated for Prohibition and Repeal
Violet Kucler and Wren Kucler
Burleigh Manor Middle School
Teachers: Robyn Page and Barbara Randolph

Junior Group Website

Technological Communication During WWI
Sebastien Spencer and Samuel Yoon
Folly Quarter Middle School
Teacher: Vincente D’Antuono

Senior Group Exhibit

The Attica Prison Riot of 1971: Truth from Behind the Bars
Anna Chalupa, Gitanjali Raghava
Howard High School
Teacher: Mary Saha

Senior Group Website

The Music of Dmitri Shostakovich: Communication Under Soviet Suppression
Allison Faith Comising, Joshua Strohmayer
Reservoir High School
Teacher: Jan Edlowitz

Special Prizes:

Senator Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr. Award for Excellence in Government History

Naturalization Act of 1906: Written Communication over the Naturalization of Immigrants
Category: Junior Group Exhibit
Cate Lee, Pat Steil
Clarksville Middle School
Teacher: Margaret Brothman

Award for Excellence in Civic Action and Engagement, sponsored by the Maryland Council for Social Studies

How Jacob Riis Illuminated the Nation’s Darkest Corners
Category: Senior Individual Documentary
Nadia Ghaicepour
Marriotts Ridge High School
Teacher: Lynn Rashid

The Barry A. Lanman Award for Oral History, sponsored by Barry Lanman

Communication During the Southern Freedom Movement: Through the Eyes of Ruby Sales
Category: Junior Individual Website
Ariella Schulterbrandt
Clarksville Middle School
Teacher: Margaret Brothman