skip to main content


collage of 2021 graduation photos

Congratulations Class of 2021!

HCPSS 2021 graduations were held between May 28 and June 4 at Merriweather Post Pavilion, with the exception of Cedar Lane, which was held at that school.

HCPSS streamed each graduation live online. Archived videos are available to watch anytime online. HCPSS also will rebroadcast the graduations on Howard County cable channels 42 (Verizon) and 95 (Comcast). That schedule and more information can be found online.

HCPSS took photos of students in the audience and speakers on stage during each ceremony. Those photos will be available for viewing and/or download on the HCPSS Flickr site no later than June 11. Lifetouch will provide photographs of individual students receiving their diplomas.


2020-2021 School Year

The HCPSS website has helpful information for parents/guardians, students and staff, including translated documents, student meals, technology devices, Google Meet expectations and more.

Bridge to Normalized Instruction: Hybrid Instructional Model

Free Student Meals

2020-2021 End of Year Updates


Plan for Fall Return

The Superintendent and Board of Education members have stated their commitment to the return to normalized, five-day, in-person learning this fall to be essential. Staff continue to plan for this while evaluating recent guidelines and updates from CDC, Maryland State Department of Education and the Howard County Health Department.

Statement by the Superintendent on Plan for Fall Return


New Partnership Supports Students and Families

The LindaBen Foundation will collaborate with Hammond Middle School and the HCPSS Office of Pupil Personnel Services to support school families facing food scarcity, economic challenges and housing instability by providing non-perishable food items, housing assistance, Thanksgiving meals and holiday gift cards.


Peter Banyas.

Peter Banyas Elected 2021-2022 SMOB

Howard High School rising senior Peter Banyas recently was elected Student Member of the Board of Education (SMOB) for the 2021-2022 school year.

Centennial High School Science Olympiad team.

HCPSS Schools Excel in 2021 Science Olympiad

In the Maryland Science Olympiad, the Centennial High School team won first place in Division C for high schools, and the Burleigh Manor Middle School team placed second in Division B for middle schools.

Kerry Johnson dancing at the barre.

First Year Hammond HS Dance Teacher Receives 2021 State Award

Kerry Johnson recently received the 2021 Emerging Leader Award from the Maryland Dance Education Association, recognizing her work and dedication in the field of dance education as an undergraduate student and in transitioning to her career as a dance educator.

HCPSS Staff Focus articles →