skip to main content


Two HCPSS Students Compete to Become the Next Student Member of the Board

March 20th, 2024

Antonio Clay-Hardy and James Obasiolu.

Wilde Lake High School junior Antonio Clay-Hardy and Atholton High School junior James Obasiolu will face each other to be the next Student Member of the Board of Education (SMOB).

Clay-Hardy and Obasiolu were chosen by their peers at the HCASC Convention, held March 20, and attended by more than 130 student delegates, nominated by their principals and peers to represent each middle and high school across the county. Eleven students ran for the SMOB position, from which Clay-Hardy and Obasiolu were chosen as finalists.

The Howard County Association of Student Councils (HCASC) will host the general election for the 2024-25 Student Member Wednesday, May 1.

All 6th-11th grade HCPSS students are eligible to vote in the SMOB election, which will be conducted in Canvas. Schools will help facilitate the election process by setting aside class time for voting throughout the day on May 1.

HCASC student leaders facilitate and manage both the campaign and election process with guidance from the HCASC advisor and HCPSS staff. The SMOB election process aims to empower students to learn and put into practice the habits of mind it takes to serve as engaged and informed citizens. HCASC provides an enriching experience for candidates where they can find meaningful ways to lead and serve either as the next SMOB or in other HCPSS student leadership positions throughout the school system.