skip to main content


HCPSS Students and Teachers Recognized in U.S. Presidential Scholars Program

May 22nd, 2020

Atholton High School senior Bill Tong and Centennial High School senior Nadine Meister have been named as U.S. Presidential Scholars by the U.S. Department of Education. There were a total of 161 students selected nationally as Class of 2020 U.S. Presidential Scholars.

The White House Commission on Presidential Scholars selects scholars annually based on their academic success, artistic and technical excellence, essays, school evaluations and transcripts, as well as evidence of community service, leadership and demonstrated commitment to high ideals.

Mt. Hebron High School History Teacher Philip Herdman and Centennial High School Biology Teacher Jason Piluk are honored as Distinguished Teachers, as nominated by Tong and Meister respectively.

The 2020 U.S. Presidential Scholars comprise one young man and one young woman from each state, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico, and U.S. families living abroad, as well as 15 chosen at-large, 20 scholars in the arts, and 20 scholars in career and technical education.

The Presidential Scholars Class of 2020 will be recognized for their outstanding achievement this summer as public health circumstances permit.

A complete list of 2020 U.S. Presidential Scholars is available at