skip to main content


HCPSS Hosts First Meeting of Superintendent’s Program Innovation Advisory Board

April 24th, 2018

Today, Howard County Public School System (HCPSS) Interim Superintendent Michael J. Martirano met with the new Superintendent’s Program Innovation Advisory Board, comprising local business, non-profit and government organization representatives looking to support opportunities for HCPSS staff and students.

“Our supportive community is among our system’s greatest assets, so we’re looking to leverage our community’s resources, ideas and energy to fuel our innovation,” Martirano said. “We have a robust curriculum and dedicated teachers, and this group will have the unique ability to connect our instruction to industries.”

The advisory board will connect industry leaders with educators to provide robust program offerings, expand experiential learning opportunities for students and staff, align curriculum with industry trends, and create post-high school supports for students.

“By convening industry and community leaders, Dr. Martirano is visionary to use this advisory board to help build new and innovative ways to prepare students for the future; a future that will have technologies not yet invented and problems not yet encountered needing creative solutions,” Howard County Economic Development Authority CEO Lawrence F. Twele said. “This is another way that HCPSS will continue to lead the nation in public education.”

During the initial meeting, advisory board members discussed how businesses can help bring relevancy into the classroom for both students and teachers, keep HCPSS up-to-date on workforce needs, identify possible gaps, share industry trends, and further support HCPSS.

“The advisory board is an exciting opportunity for education, business, and community leaders to envision new and innovative opportunities for students and educators in grades K–12,” said Dr. Kate Hetherington, president of Howard Community College. “By working together, we will build a robust workforce of the future in Howard County. I look forward to further expanding the partnership between Howard Community College and the Howard County Public School System.”

Photo of Innovation Advisory Board

The advisory board includes: Chip Doetsch (Apple Ford), Clarissa Evans (Bright Minds Foundation), Jeffrey Agnor (Davis, Agnor, Rapaport & Skalny), Tim O’Ferrall (Fort Meade Alliance), Kathleen Hetherington (Howard Community College), Leonardo McClarty (Howard County Chamber of Commerce), Lawrence F. Twele (Howard County Economic Development Authority), Elizabeth Edsall Kromm (Howard County General Hospital), Caroline Walker (Howard County Public School System), Angie Lienert (Intelligenesis), Jack Terry (Leidos), Angela Volcy (National Security Agency), Luke Chow (Prime Manufacturing Technologies Inc.), Anuja Sonalker (STEER Tech), Matthew Dunlop (U.S. Cyber Command), and Vince DeFrancisci (Universities Space Research Association).