skip to main content


Patapsco MS Principal Named 2018 Maryland Middle School Principal of the Year

March 5th, 2018

Patapsco Middle School Principal Cynthia Dillon has been named the 2018 Maryland Middle School Principal of the Year by the Maryland Association of Secondary School Principals (MASSP). Interim Superintendent Michael Martirano and MASSP Executive Director Scott Pfeifer surprised Dillon with the announcement at her school.

“Every opportunity we get to celebrate and recognize our outstanding educators is a testament to the exceptional work they do across the county,” said HCPSS Interim Superintendent Michael J. Martirano. “Mrs. Dillon truly deserves this award. She’s connected school staff and the community to work in tandem to ensure every student has the supports they need to be terrific students and citizens.”

Dillon was recognized for inspiring students to become lifelong learners and responsible citizens. Dillon creates an environment that encourages meaningful and challenging instruction, critical thinking and independence, and promotes responsible citizenship in a diverse world.

Dillon is in her eighth year serving the school community of Patapsco Middle School. She has been an educator with the Howard County Public School System for 25 years, including 17 years as a school-based administrator.